University of Waikato Alumni Scholarship was established to support University of Waikato Alumni to continue their academic journey by returning to study, in a new field or a higher qualification


A total of $10,000 is available which may be offered to one recipient or split equally between a maximum of two recipients.


  1. Be a returning Alumnus1 of the University of Waikato who has not studied at the University of Waikato in the past two calendar years.
  2. Have achieved at least a B in their last 120-points of study at the University of Waikato.
  3. Be 25 years or older.
  4. Be able to show engagement with the University since graduating as well as involvement in the wider community on a volunteer basis.
  5. Be intending to enrol in at least 60-points of study at the University of Waikato in the year following application.
  6. At the time of application be residing in New Zealand.
  7. Be willing and able to be part of university-led promotion on the importance of education.

Those not eligible to apply include:

  1. Current staff of the University of Waikato who are eligible for staff fees concessions.
  2. Previous recipients of the scholarship.

Selection Process

  • Academic merit;
  • Engagement with the university and wider community;
  • Preference may be given to applicants with financial need.

Method of Application

Click Here to Apply

  1. Read the guidelinesPlease ensure you read the regulations before you commence the application process.
  2. If you are new, complete an application to enrolYou will need to do this BEFORE you can have access to apply for Scholarships and Awards.Application to enrol
  3. Apply using MyWaikatoOnce you have an account, log into MyWaikato and click on the ‘Scholarships’ tab to see the list of available scholarshipsApply now

Note: If you are a current student or already have a University of Waikato account you will be redirected to the MyWaikato screen. Log in to MyWaikato, select the ‘Scholarships’ tab and choose the scholarship you wish to apply for from the list at the bottom of the page.

For More Information

Visit the Official Webpage

Application Deadline: November 15, 2024