Home Africa AERC Funded Masters Fellowships at Universities in Africa 2020

AERC Funded Masters Fellowships at Universities in Africa 2020

The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) offers the 2020/2021 Masters scholarships for applicants from Anglophone sub-Saharan African countries admitted into any of the following AERC Collaborative Masters Programme (CMAP) in Economics universities in the 2020/21 academic session.

The African Economic Research Consortium (AERC) was established in 1988 as a public not-for-profit organization devoted to the advancement of economic policy research and training in Africa. The Consortium’s mandate and strategic intent is built on the basis that sustained develop­ment in sub-Saharan Africa require well-trained, locally based profes­sion­al economists. AERC agitates the provision of capacity building in economic policy in Francophone and Anglophone African countries through provision of support in the areas of policy research and graduate training.

The Collaborative Masters Programme (CMAP) in Economics spans departments of economics in universities across sub-Saharan Africa. The aim of CMAP is to enhance the capacity of mid-level economic managers and policy analysts, as well as to produce first class students interested in careers in academia. CMAP does this by delivering economics programmes in Africa that meet international standards, are relevant to African needs and can eventually be sustained from local resources.

Currently, 26 universities in 21 countries participate in CMAP. Participating departments are classified into three categories, category A, category B and category C. Students in category A universities enrol for MA studies in either category B or category C universities. Category B comprises seven universities that are deemed to have adequate capacity to offer core courses (Macroeconomics, Microeconomics and Quantitative Methods) and supervise theses. Students in category B universities then proceed to the Joint Facility for Electives (JFE) for a period of three months (between July and September) to be jointly taught elective courses by African scholars and leading international experts.

Worth of Award

  • Fellowships are funded


To qualify for the scholarship, the applicant must:

  • Have applied and been admitted to any one of the listed CMAP universities;
  • Female and applicants from post-conflict and fragile states are highly encouraged to apply.
  • Have attained at least a Second Class Honours (Upper Division) or equivalent in Economics or related field from an accredited university; and

How to Apply

Interested applicants must submit their applications for admission directly to the respective universities (application procedure can be obtained from the respective university’s website). Upon receipt of an admission letter from a specific university, applicants shall send the following documents to AERC on jfe@aercafrica.org and copy training@aercafrica.org.

  • Application cover letter;
  • Curriculum Vitae;
  • Evidence of admission at any of the universities listed above; and
  • Certified copies of transcripts and certificates

Click Here To Apply

Deadline: Application closes July 10, 2020.