The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is offering the Two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in 2020.

Since 1967, UNESCO International Literacy Prizes have rewarded excellence and innovation in the field of literacy. Over 485 projects and programmes undertaken by governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals around the world have been recognized. Through these prestigious Prizes, UNESCO seeks to support effective literacy practices and encourages the promotion of dynamic literate societies.

This year UNESCO will reward five individuals or organizations around the world for their outstanding projects that promote literacy within the theme ‘Teaching and learning literacy: the role of educators and changing pedagogies’.

This year’s thematic focus is highlighting teachers who are at the frontline of delivering literacy learning, and their contribution to promoting youth and adult literacy, linked to target 4.6 of the Sustainable Development Goal on Education (SDG4), where literacy is perceived as a continuum developed throughout life.

Currently, there are two UNESCO International Literacy Prizes:

  • The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize (2 awards)

Established in 1989, with the support of the Government of the Republic of Korea. It gives special consideration to the development and use of mother-tongue literacy education and training.

  • The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy (3 awards)

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy, established in 2005, with the support of the Government of the People’s Republic of China. It gives special consideration to literacy amongst adults in rural areas and out-of-school youth, particularly girls and women.

Worth of Award

  • Each of the five prizewinners receives a medal, a diploma and US$20.000.
  • Governments, non-governmental organizations and individuals who promote literacy through projects and programmes are welcome to apply.
  • All applications should be submitted to nominating entities, such as the National Commission for UNESCO in the country of the programme, or an NGO that is in an official partnership with UNESCO.

Selection criteria for the International Literacy Prizes

  • Relevance to the themes
  • Relevance to individuals and societal needs and robustness
  • Quality of teaching and learning
  • Impact
  • Innovative features
  • Sustainability.

In addition to these criteria, the project/programme should:

  • be ongoing and proven record of innovative work in the field of literacy for at least three years.
  • have not been awarded the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes in the past five years.
  • promote literacy through effective and innovative projects or programmes.

How to Apply

  • Candidates can submit their applications through the online platform.
  • Details about the application and nomination process are on the UNESCO International Literacy Prizes’ website.
  • National Commissions and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in official partnership with UNESCO are encouraged to nominate individuals, institutions and organizations who are making outstanding contributions to promoting literacy and who request a nomination.

Click here for more details and to apply

Deadline: Apply before June 28th, 2020.