The Michigan State University – USA is offering the Miriam J. Kelley African Scholarship Program to Africans who are interested in studying for a degree program at the Institution. The awards is created to encourage MSU African students to enhance their studies and make a contribution to the development of their country. Women are strongly urged to apply.

Eligible Countries: African countries

Type: Graduate (Masters, PhD)

Number of Awards: 2

Value of Award: $1,000.


  1. Applicants must be MSU African students in good academic standing. (The grant has an emphasis toward the educational enhancement of women).
  2. Applicants should be MSU students on a temporary visa.
  3. Applicants must describe the factors that suggest the likelihood of their returning to their home country.
  4. Applicants must have demonstrated capacity to achieve their educational goals and have the assertiveness to seek further opportunities to advance their education.

Application Process: Applications may be submitted at any time, but must be presented by July 15 every year.  Send applications to: Office for International Students and Scholars, 103 International Center.  The application consists of 2 parts, a narrative and 2 supporting letters.

Part I:  Your narrative should be 3 single-spaced pages or less and should treat the following topics:

1.  General description of applicant’s educational goals and the relationship of the proposed activities to those goals, (What you will do and why, where and with whom). 3.  Budget outline detailing expected costs of the activities and other confirmed or prospective funding from university or outside sources to be received by the student during the time period of these activities.
2.  Specific purpose of the activities and the benefits likely in the short or long run to the student and the student’s home country.

Part II: Supporting letters

Two supporting letters are required, one from the applicant’s advisor or chairperson and another from a teacher of the applicant.

Visit The Official Website For More Information

Application Deadline: 15th July 2020